June post for Auto teacher news

Teacher News Transitions June 2009

I can not think of a better topic this month than transitions or change. No one likes change except wet babies. We are seeing more change than ever before in our lifetime of the US auto industry. Unless you are a hermit you are seeing the collapse of the major players in the US market. We are evolving in many ways, electric and hybrid innovations are everywhere. Budget cuts are hurting all levels of our work force. Even the best automotive business models are feeling the strain of change. Hindsight tells us they should have seen it coming, learned the lesson of the early 70s when the Oil barons raised the price by holding back production. I feel the traditional auto makers are now in the position of the buggy whip craftsmen of the early 1900s when the first cars drove by their shops. Many of those leather workers made the finest buggy whips in the world at the time. Those that were pro active and flexible survived and thrived making the oil seals, tops and seat covers for the new cars. Those that continued to make the buggy whips went the way of all things obsolete and unneeded.
If we as auto teachers take this summer to evaluate what we do, trim the things that we do that don’t work and be proactive about making the changes that benefit our students. Much like all companies and educational systems should during this time of economic recession and mental depression. We can come out of these troubled times with new ideas and strategies to benefit our students, our programs and our industry. If we continue to do the same old things we will have the same results, High drop out rates, teen apathy and little gain in the war on ignorance and dumbness.
I am encouraged by the recent news of the joining of forces of ASE, AYES and SkillsUSA. These three figure heavily into my program, my student’s futures and my own life as a teacher. I know that only good things for my students can come from the synergy of these powerful organizations.
I am looking forward to this summer as a time of learning as I attend the American Honda Training Center in Alpharetta Georgia for a week of what I consider the finest example of hands on performance based automotive training program I have ever experienced. I am looking forward to exploring and sharing as I visit the Netherlands to train with the folks at Electude and learn more about online delivery of instruction. www.electude.com
I am looking forward to sharing and networking in Charlotte North Carolina as the best auto educators meet at the NACAT conference July 19-24. Since my first conference till now I have gained more resources for my students and met life long friends at NACAT. I know that we will solve all the world’s problems and maybe a few that will impact your classroom/lab. If you have not signed up do so today and I will see you there. www.nacat.com

Here is a recent article that I feel is important for our student’s parents to read.
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/05/24/magazine/24labor-t.html?pagewanted=4&_r=1

“You can do the work of the mind without the hand, but not that of the hand without the mind.” Danish Proverb

Sonny Reeves https://www.autoteacher.net/Auto_Teacher_News.php

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

