Jan Auto teacher News

Auto teachers news letter January 29, 2009

I post a few of my class videos on Teacher Tube for sharing with everyone. While posting a few weeks ago I ran across “Power Teaching Demonstration.” I was not impressed when I first viewed the short clips. Then I went to the web site for Power Teaching and downloaded the PDF document that goes into detail about the technique. I revisited the videos and decided to try a few of the methods on my class of teenagers. Wow! What a change in the perspective of my students toward the class assignments especially homework. I used to require one homework of a written technical summary of an article the student has read concerning automotive see writing assignment on this page

Class Papers
I sometimes did not get homeworks done on time or not at all. The classes were inconsistent about the homework. Well I did not change the writing assignment nor did I allow for excuses in turning the homework in on time. What I did was add up to FIVE homeworks a week and almost all have been turned in on time. The classes are doing 2-3 homeworks directly related to the next day’s lesson each week and it has made a huge difference in learning. The students are focused and more responsible for their own learning. Not a perfect world yet but this technique has more effect than any I have observed or tried myself in 15 years of teaching. I am using the attention getting method and the homework system.

I am still using the “Teamworks” I borrowed from Jeff Curtis

http://www.teachertube.com
To see my class videos type in “Hutchings” in the search on Teacher Tube.
To see Power teaching type in “Chris Biffle” or “power teaching demonstration.”

More next news letter.

Sonny www.autoteacher.net

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

